Chester-le-Street : 0191 387 1387
Eaglescliffe : 01642 200 140

National Rail Enquiry Service (24hr) : 08457 48 49 50

Chester-le-Track Hotel Links

Welcome to our hotels page, featuring Lumley Castle, our town's 14th century castle. It's an excellent hotel, and below it are listings to other quality hotel chains and individual hotels in the north east and further afield.

Sympathetic refurbishment over the ages has transformed Lumley Castle into an international hotel offering an exciting blend of ancient history and modern luxury. All 59 bedrooms are uniquely furnished, from the genuine Queen four-poster in the King James suite to the rustic charm and old beams of the courtyard rooms. Subdued lighting, hidden corridors and secret passages enhance the delightful atmosphere of the hotel. Elizabethan Banquets in the Baron's Hall are are regular fixture.

All hotel links here are recommended by Chester-le-Track.

Superbreak http://www.superbreak.com/home.cfm?company=IN380 Our affiliate for booking hotels on line at any time, Superbreak offers a full range of hotels, both independent and leading brands, which can be booked direct. Shop around all on one site and pick the right one for you.
Wotif - last minute hotels http://www.wotif.com Within 28 days ahead, WOTIF is an internet clearing house for unsold inventory all over the UK. Highly recommended and prinicpally used by Australians, although it has excellent deals in the UK.
Lumley Castle http://www.lumleycastle.com As described above: the best accommodation, conferences and functions venue in Chester-le-Street. New website now open, giving details of our town's best hotel. Tel 0191 389 1111.
Bar Convent, York http://www.bar-convent.org.uk The nuns of the Bar Convent, close to York Railway station, offer basic but clean accommodation in a no-smoking environment. Fascinating place, fascinating people.
Best Western http://www.bestwestern.co.uk/lowrates A consortium of independently owned individual hotels. Good rates guaranteed on this linked page.
Brook Hotels http://www.brook-hotels.co.uk A small group of hotels in Bradford, Sevenoaks, Colchester and Rutland (Oakham)
Burlington Hotel, Leicester http://www.burlingtonhotel.co.uk If you want comfortable accommodation in Leicester, try this friendly small hotel close to the universities and a short taxi ride from the railway station. Recommended by the Stationmaster.
Corus Hotels http://www.corushotels.com Formerly Regal hotels, now upgrading its estate to the Corus name, an innovative and fresh addition to the three star sector
Five Gables Guest House http://www.fivegables.co.uk A pleasant guest house at Binchester, near Bishop Auckland offering guest and self-catering accommodation.
Freedom of the Glen Hotels http://www.freedomglen.co.uk A family of hotels on the sides of Loch Leven in Scotland, between Oban and Fortwilliam, including the Stationmaster's honeymoon hotel, the Ballachulish.
Hastings Hotels http://www.hastingshotels.com Group of the finest hotels in Northern Ireland, from the Slieve Donard in Newcastle, Co. Down to the Culloden at Belfast, also the Europa in Belfast City Centre.
Hilton Hotels http://www.hilton.com/uk "Take me to the Hilton" is the precursor of a great stay, wherever you are (incorporates Stakis hotels in the UK)
Harlingford Hotel, Bloomsbury http://www.harlingfordhotel.com A pleasant small hotel close toKings Cross and Euston stations, only bookable by telephone, not on the internet. Prices shown on this website.
Honest Lawyer hotel http://www.honestlawyerhotel.com Just south of Durham, this motel style property has 56 ensuite bedrooms. Warm welcome at nbudget prices.
Hotel Formule 1 http://www.hotelformule1.com Single star budget hotels with rooms from only £19.95. Our nearest is Kenton, NW of Newcastle.
Hotelline http://www.hotelline.co.uk Hotel bookings online or via a friendly call centre 0845 4583536
The Imperial, Llandudno http://www.theimperial.co.uk The Imperial Hotel in Llandudno is on the Promenade but close to the railway station, offering top quality accommodation and meals.
Inter Continental Hotels http://www.interconti.com International brand of high quality hotels
Jarvis Hotels http://www.jarvis.co.uk Now the franchisee for Ramada in the UK, 56 hotels have joined the Ramada portfolio. (nothing to do with the ex-trains maintenance people!)
Jurys Doyle Hotels http://www.jurysdoyle.com A portfolio of Irish owned hotels in Eire and UK, and a few in the US, now open in Croydon, Surrey (a new Jurys Inn) and coming to Newcastle in 2003.
La Mon Country House Hotel http://www.lamon.co.uk At Castlereag near Comber in County Down, this is an impressive hotel for a luxurious stay in Northern Ireland.
LateRooms.com http://www.laterooms.co.uk On line and by telephone sale of last minute inventory at hotels the world over, offering the next three days on screen, and further ahead if you want it.
Le Meridien http://www.lemeridien.com Seriously high quality chain which has been owned respectively by Air France, Forte, Granada and Nomura Bank, tied in with the Principal hotel chain, so (for example) they have taken over the Royal York Hotel at York as Le Meridien York.
Lord Crewe Arms, Blanchland http://www.lordcrewehotel.com Rather a long way from any railway station, this rural Northumberland hotel has oodles of character and a ghost to boot! Recommended.
Macdonald Hotels http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk Why do so many hotel chains begin with M? This is an interesting portfolio of hotels by a Scottish company which has its own managed and owned estate, added to by acquiring the Heritage Hotels part of Forte / Granada. Worth a look.
Malmaison Hotels http://www.malmaison.com An excellent small chain of luxury hotels, mostly newly developed, and our nearest is on the fashionable Newcastle Quayside
Marriott Hotels http://www.marriott.co.uk Whitbread-owned chain in the UK, this is part of the major Marriott brand of accommodation and leisure resorts
Marston Hotels http://www.marstonhotels.com Quality hotels in the Midlands and South in 13 locations, three and four star standard.
McMillan Hotels http://www.mcmillanhotels.co.uk Four fine hotels in southwestern Scotland including the Cally Palace at Gatehouse-of-Fleet
Mentone Hotel, Bloomsbury http://www.mentonehotel.com Small friendly hotel close to Kings Cross and Euston stations, also available for booking via wotif.com at even better rates.
Menzies Hotels http://www.menzies-hotels.co.uk A unique portfolio of three and four star hotels comprising traditional town house hotels, prime city centre properties, luxury country house hotels and premier coastal resorts. Our nearest is at Silverlink near Wallsend, North Tyneside.
Millennium and Copthorne http://www.millenniumhotels.com An international brand of four and five star hotels, also trading as Maritim in Germany. Big in US and New Zealand, with 17 in UK: mostly Millennium in London and Copthorne in the provinces.
Milton Hotels http://www.miltonhotels.com A Scottish chain of superior tourist hotels.
Moat House Hotels http://www.moathousehotels.com 43 hotels throughout the UK, trading as Moat House and also a few under the Holiday Inn brand. Nearest to us is Newcastle's Holiday Inn, north of the city.
Mooney Hotel Group http://www.mooneyhotelgroup.com The Mooney Hotel Group is comprised of the Wellington Park Hotel, the Dunadry Hotel and Country Club and the Armagh City Hotel and has been a family-owned and managed business for three generations.
The Moorings Hotel http://www.themooringsdurham.co.uk Locxated at Hett Hills, three miles west of Chester-le-Street station, this is where the station satff have their annual bash. Small hotel with some rooms having outside jacuzzis.
Morpeth Court Apartments http://www.morpethcourt.com 500m from Morpeth Station, and close to the town centre are these luxury apartments built in the old county Gaol. Stastiomaster stayed May 05.
Moor of Rannoch Hotel http://www.rannoch.net/moor-of-rannoch One of Scotland's most remote hotels, set on the edge of Rannoch Moor close to Rannoch Station, which has a daily Sleeper service to/from London.
Old English Hotels http://www.oldenglish.co.uk A range of mostly smaller hotels in pubs over southern England, many with old world charm. Every Thursday they publish on the website bargains for the forthcoming weekend.
Paramount Hotels http://www.paramount-hotels.co.uk A leeds-based group of luxury hotels, including Redworth Hall in our own County Durham, and other hotels from London to Torquay and north to Stirling, including the Carlton in Edinburgh.
Patio Hotels http://www.patiohotels.com A small group of 3* hotels in Aberdeen and Glasgow (Clydebank), with one near CDG Airport in Paris too.
Peel Hotels plc http://www.peelhotel.com A small group with four owned hotels in Bradford, Newcastle, Peterborough and Leeds, and 14 more managed properties.
Plawsworth cottages http://www.plawsworth.com A range of apartments and cottages available at Plawsworth, a village a couple of miles south of Chester-le-Street. Available by the week only, no pets.
Regal Hotels http://www.regalhotels.co.uk Old name for Corus Hotels, which many of the non-Corus hotles still trade under. Mostly three star sector.
RF Hotels (Rocco Forte) http://www.roccofortehotels.com After a great night with our web team at the Balmoral, Edinburgh, the stationmaster is pleased to recommend this small group of luxury hotels, also in Brussels, Cardiff, Florence, Manchester (The Lowry), Rome & St. Petersburg
RoomAucton.com http://www.roomauction.com Bid for hotel rooms last minute at less than the rack rate. Hotels not obliged to accept your bid, nor even reply if your bid is too low. Available throughout the UK
Seaham Hall http://www.seaham-hall.com Luxury hotel and oriental spa at Seaham, on the coast. The stationsmaster went there for afternoon tea in April. Nearest station: Seaham.
Seaside Hotels http://www.seaside-hotels.com We do not normally feature hotels abroad, but this is being updated from Lanzarote inthe Canary Islands, where the stationmasteris staying at the excellent Los Jameos Playa on the Playa de los Pocillos sandy beach. Nearest station = Penzance!!
Station Hotel, Dumfries http://www.stationhotel.co.uk Fine Victorian hotel adjacent to the station in this interesting town.
The Place (Manchester) http://www.theplaceforliving.com The Place for Living is a warehouse in Manchester, adjacent to Piccadilly station, offering quality loft accommodation in an old converted warehouse
Thistle Hotels http://www.thistlehotels.com Over 55 hotels, including 23 in London (biggest chain in the capital) each with a unique style and character. Our nearest is opposite Newcastle Central Station.
Tomahawk Hotels including Grand Victoria, Bradfrod http://www.tomahawkhotels.co.uk The Tomahawk Group owns three luxury hotels in Yorkshire - Woodlands in Leeds, Aston Hall in Sheffield and the Great Victoria in Bradford. Each hotel is a stunning, sympathetically restored period building, spectacularly updated in signature Tomahawk style by interior designers Browning and Baize.
Tontine Hotel, Peebles http://www.tontinehotel.com Town centre hotel in Peebles, Scotland. Website by our own website designers Drummond Media.
Travel Inn http://www.travelinn.co.uk The Whitbread version of Travelodge, this budget chain offers high quality accommodation throughout the UK. ONE OF THE BEST WEBSITES FOR HOTEL BOOKINGS!
Travelodge http://www.travelodge.co.uk Budget accommodation at high quality, with sites throughout Britain. Another very good website for making bookings, and (if you're not going by train) with route planning directions.
Vermont Hotel, Newcastle http://www.vermont-hotel.com Located above the famous Quayside in Newcastle upon Tyne, the Vermont is an historic 12 storey landmark with 101 rooms and suites ****
White Heather Hotel http://www.whiteheatherhotel.co.uk At Kyleakin on the Island of Skye, opposite rail terminal at Kyle of Lochalsh, this superb non-smoking B&B is owned by the daughter of the receptionist at our CLS Parish Centre!
Wotif - last minute hotels http://www.wotif.com Second bite of the cherry for this superb website selling accommodation in the next 13 days.
Youth Hostels Association http://www.yha.org.uk Do not forget the YHA for budget accommodation around the country, in both city and rural locations. Complete Rent-a-hostel available off-peak.
     
Honest Lawyer Hotel http://www.honestlawyerhotel.com At Croxdale Bridge, south of durham, this interesting hotel offers online booking through LateRooms.com
Kingsknowes Hotel http://www.kingsknowes.co.uk A fine Victorian textile owners home turned into a hotel, with a fine conservatory overlooking Abbotsford, home of Sir Walter Scott.
Loch Melfort Hotel http://www.lochmelfort.co.uk Nigel and Kyle Schofield are the owners of this beautiful hotel south of Oban, adjacent to the National Trust gardens of Arduaine.
Meldrums Hotel http://www.meldrumshotel.com A fine independently owned hotel in Ceres, a couple of miles from Cupar station in Fife. Stationmaster's recommendation.

Chester-le-Street Tel: +44 (0)191 387 1387
Eaglescliffe Tel: +44 (0)1642 200 140

Booking office at Chester-le-street is open:
0620 - 1800 Mon (except Bank Holidays)
0730 - 1800 Tues - Fri --- 0730 - 1300 Sat

Web Design by Webnostics

National Rail Enquiry Service (24hr) Tel: +44 (0)8457 48 49 50

Webmaster
Website Queries Only Please No Rail Information Provided
Tel: 07860 953 981
Email: burnopfield@yahoo.co.uk

Copyright © 2014